That spike went in my vein

At long last our national nightmare is almost over and now we as a nation can focus on creating the next national nightmare. Pretty surreal but last week I went and decided to get myself a vaccine. Went with one against covid. Seemed like the smart choice. Already have a bunch of other vaccinations figured I’d get this one and round out my collection.

Honestly, sometimes dying alone in a hospital away from your friends and family sounds better than talking to someone you only kinda know.

And now I don’t know how I feel about the whole thing. I mean, good, obviously. But weird. Like the whole year has been building to everyone getting vaccinated so that things can start returning to some semblance of normalcy and now people are starting to get vaccinated.

More importantly, I’ve gotten vaccinated. And there’s a certain element of sooooo… that’s it? I’m just supposed to go out and live life again like nothing happened? Ideally, yes, I guess that’s what I’m supposed to do. But I don’t know about you but I’m pretty sure that I’m good and broken. There’s a bunch of stuff that I don’t think I’ll ever do normally again. 

Reading stuff like this and I’m glad to know that it was all worth it.

I don’t really know what to do. I think I’m gonna get a ridiculous tattoo. That seems like fun. I don’t have any tattoos. I’ve always wanted one. Why not get one now? And maybe I’m gonna see some friends and get irresponsibly drunk. I’m gonna hug some folks maybe a bit too long. Maybe tear up a bit when some people.

And then I’ll probably just settle back in. I’ll see the people that right now I can’t wait to see. And I’ll stand next to them at a bar. And they’ll stand next to me but we’ll all be largely on our pones. A lot of the people that I miss so much right now, I might not see for a while. Some folks, maybe never again. It’s a bummer to think about. 

I don’t know all what I’m going to do but I should probably start doing it. Because that’s it. I lived through the pandemic. I got my shot. Now I have to live. But I got so used to not living. I settled into doing pandemic. Now I just have to go back.

For the past year I haven’t been around people because people were scary. But my dirty little secret is that I was already scared to be around people. Sometimes it was nice to have the excuse. I can’t be seeing my friends because that whole pandemic thing. But maybe I never had friends. I guess we’ll find out.

But no matter what happens. And no matter how ill-prepared I am to handle it all. At least I’ll have a sick tattoo.

Leave a comment